By Norah Akiyai

After obtaining a diploma in Crop Production and Management in 2014, I volunteered as a food security officer at a local organization in Katakwi District, in eastern Uganda until I got the scholarship from RUFORUM. This scholarship has enabled me to pursue a degree in Food Science and Agri-business at Gulu University in Uganda.

Recurrent insurgencies in the country has left most households in the eastern part of the country vulnerable economically.

Many farmers face challenges accessing agricultural inputs to facilitate their farming activities. This has in turn led to low and delayed crop cultivation. So, I decided to use my stipend to set up an agro-input enterprise in my home village.

With schools closed because of COVID-19, I returned home and resumed selling in the shop. I get the opportunity here to interact with farmers and also offer them advice through the knowledge I acquired from my diploma training.

I engage in farmer field visits and guide on pest and disease control techniques for crops such as citrus, cabbages, watermelons, and tomatoes.

Leave a comment

Trending