By Aliet Mmbone Ugada

I still vividly remember that afternoon when all Mastercard scholars at Gulu University gathered to listen to the next course of action. The university had been closed as one of the measures by the government to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Learning had come to a stop and students had to return to their respective homes. But as an international student, I had nowhere to go to as borders were closed. So, together with the rest of the international students, we remained in the hostel and tried to make good use of our time.

As time went by, I came to terms with my situation because this was going to be the new normal for everyone. I had to quickly come up with a plan that would work for me.

I began with my proposal. My literature review was in a bad shape, so I started the chapter afresh. It took me four full weeks of working at least 8 hours a day to carefully and thoroughly review my literature. I really appreciate my supervisors who devoted their time to guide me through this journey. By the end of April, Chapter Two of the literature review was fine-tuned. Later on, I proceeded to make the necessary corrections and improvements on Chapter 1 of introduction and 3 of the methodology. Before long, I had completed the proposal.

Online courses and trainings

Besides working on my proposal, I also started taking part in online trainings. I enrolled for a course called Planning for Monitoring and Evaluation, at Philanthropy University, online platform. I completed all the modules and was awarded a certificate. I can now comfortably design a logical framework for a given project because of this course.

I participated in an entrepreneurship training organized by RUFORUM, where I learnt how to develop a business idea and run it through all the preparation stages.

All these trainings and interactions also motivated me to start a YouTube channel called Simplified Nutrition Guidelines for Africans. I am a nutritionist by both training and passion. This is what I studied for my undergraduate, and now pursuing it at masters’ level under the Mastercard scholarship programme. Over the years, the knowledge and experience I have acquired has shown me that nutrition is a subject that still needs greater attention on the continent.

This is what my YouTube channel is all about—simplifying what nutrition means in a way that the population can easily understand and take action.

Home projects

Back at home, I have established a one-acre sugarcane farm that I hope will generate income. I settled for this business after thorough consultations on its profitability, and due to the convenience of operating it since at the moment, I am far away from home. Though the project is still in its early stages, I have learnt a lot so far. I have also been providing financial support to my family, thanks to the support from the Mastercard Foundation.

I look forward to the reopening of schools so that I can complete my course work and begin data collection for my thesis.

Leave a comment

Trending