By Marveeen Nafula

Five years after completing my undergraduate studies, I had no hope of advancing my education. That changed when I applied and received a scholarship from RUFORUM. 

As a result, I have been able to return to school and pursue my dream career. Through the funding I get from the scholarship (savings from the monthly stipend), I decided to open a veterinary drug shop. At the shop, I also employ one of the young women in my village who recently completed a diploma course but has no money to pursue further studies.

This opportunity has enabled her to support her family back home. I was also able to renovate our family, which was in a bad state. The house now looks much better. Besides, I also bought myself a one-and-a-half acre piece of land, which I hope to use to establish a farm after I complete my studies. At the moment, I am using the land to grow maize and eucalyptus trees.

I am happy that RUFORUM has transformed my life and I am in a position to transform the lives of other underprivileged people. I am also grateful that I have been able to pursue my studies without any interruptions. 

Leave a comment

Trending