By Amos Anyiego Bikwendo

I am a student pursuing an undergraduate degree in Education at Egerton University, Kenya. My vision is to become a transformational leader and entrepreneur. I hope to create jobs that can lead to sustainable livelihoods for youth.

Currently, I run a poultry project and supply eggs within the community. Despite having few hens, the project is running well and I hope to stock more birds in the near future. On top of selling eggs, I use the chicken droppings as a source of manure for my vegetable garden.

In the future, I hope I can be able to supply large amounts of eggs and also own a hatchery machine. This would create job opportunities for young people and improve their economic status. At the moment though, my biggest challenge is the small rearing space that I have for the chicken project. Buying feeds for the chicken is also an expensive venture, which has made it hard to increase stock beyond what I already have. 

Leave a comment

Trending